Coping Techniques

What are some of your coping techniques when you become overwhelmed with symptoms?
For me, I like to stay in bed and write, as I am an aspiring author. So far, I am on my third book.
Getting lost in video games helps as well. It’s nice to imagine a schizophrenia-less world sometimes.

3 Likes

I like to listen to rap music by trustworthy mainstream artists to drown the noise of the voices (real and imagined, I live on a busy street). One thing that helps me immensely is reading the Bible but mostly the Quran, it’s full of passages that teach you that evildoers never have a happy ending… :wink:

Writing is awesome. Good that you have the ability to keep going with projects like that.
I find that going on a walk or bike ride somewhere aimless helps me. If my legs are moving, my mind can usually move on.
If I’m stuck somewhere, waiting on people or doing a job and I can’t escape, it is harder. Right now I don’t have that problem. I have unemployment problems though.

Other things: I can get my mind off worries and overwhelm by reading something interesting. I love to learn about complicated subjects. It’s like doing a logic puzzle and takes me into a puzzle world but then I may get trapped or go on infinite tangents of related subjects.

The thing that seems best is drawing a picture or making a painting. Then I am in a free form world where I can create what I feel and desire with no rules.

Making digital music or playing with a piano is very good, however I have to be careful not to trigger auditory loops. I’ll go on an endless quest to get the current song out of my head with a new song.

I’ve been learning how to make computer games and this is a good activity because I have to switch back and forth from visual design and programming logic design. My brain gets to do different jobs and take a break.

Then there is smoking cigs, it’s not a good thing at all, but It seems to give me a break to rethink everything.