Anhedonia, emotional numbness and motivation

Hi,
I’m a 26 year old student from wales . I have been hearing voices for the last 3 years. They are derogatory unpleasant nasty and cruel
I also have anhedonia . I’m unable to feel pleasure from things like drinking a cup of tea , physical touch or eating.
I also have sexual anhedonia . I cant feel pleasure from sex and my sex drive is very low
This is all very distressing for me. Instead of feeling pleasure I feel this intense discomfort underneath my scalp .
It’s really affecting my motivation and quality of life . I’m moving into a new house on Friday and yet I feel nothing
Does anyone have any advice on how to treat the anhedonia ?

3 Likes

Welcome @Emu567

If you find yourself in need of help, just tag a moderator. Type the @ symbol, then our names

@anon4362788 , @Ninjastar , @Moonbeam, @rogueone, and @Bowens

Enjoy your stay with us!

Welcome there! Are you on medicaments atm? For me the feeling of anhedonia and despair went better with antidepressants. Still, it´s something we struggle with.

Welcome.
I have that too. No solution that doesn’t worsen positive symptoms.

1 Like

Actually maybe try Wellbutrin, its an antidepressant that works on dopamine and gave me back some of my emotions.

I’ve never had anhedonia for food and drink, but I have had it for most entertainment activities. My advice for improving it is pretty simple. Be on minimum dose of meds that controls symptoms and just keep trying new things. I improved my anhedonia/concentration for watching shows/movies simply by trying to find something that I am really interested in and keep trying. I think that it is also important to not have expectations of whether or not you are going to enjoy an activity but just do it and see what happens.

I have no idea if this will help you or not but mine has improved by these simple steps.