2 types of patients; which patient are you?

which type of patients are you
for me i am thinking i am the first i feel good

• doctor know whats good for me (do exactly what doc say)
  • i know whats best for me (do what i think in )

0 voters

2 Likes

I would say both opinions matter but if I discuss with the doctor and generally follow his directions until I run into more problems.

1 Like

My doctors and I work as a team. I provide the on the ground situation report, they provide the expert analysis, together we plan out the best course of action. I implement, they support.

2 Likes

I’m both. My doctor may know more, but I know me better. My doctor listens to what I want/think and works with that.

3 Likes

In every case where I did a self analysis, which was a total of 7 times, I was in the right, and the doctor was wrong.

7 times it took forever to get the doctors to see the truth. 7 times the doctors had laughed at my conclusions. 7 times the doctors finally admitted that I was right.

These cases spanned over about 26 years.

2 Likes

I know a lot about meds so I sometimes guide my doctors.
But after my psychotic break in 2016, I vowed to listen to my psychiatrist.

Idk how other people are with meds but I take 80 mg with Latuda. Few side effects like grogginess in the morning, anxiety, and nausea. Then I got on hydroxyzine which seemed to counteract that so recently I have very little to complain about to the doctor. I feel “all good” and not wanting to change nothing with meds.

Yeah it’s team work. I’m a good patient and listen to my psydoc. He also listens to me and has been supportive if I’ve wanted to change things with my medications. It really pays to be up with your treatment and having a good relationship with your doc!