This is the kind of computer I would assemble and sell

Newegg is the ■■■■.
aside from not being DDR4 this rig is pretty much top of the line in terms of power. It’s not the most power efficient build. It’s the most bang for your buck I could arrange. The ssd to could be upgraded tacking on a 100 to 200 dollars.

I was aiming for the 1000 price point.

Id assemble it and tack on an extra 100 dollars.

I guess the operating system is missing. Be another couple hundred.

So 1.5k for a larger ssd and windows 10… err 7 for now with free upgrade in first year. I’d get my hundred dollars out of it. This build compares to machines that cost 500 to 1000 dollars more from what I’ve seen.

I’ve been hearing good things about the windows 10 technical preview. Read somewhere ultimate mouse and keyboard experience…

Sorry for uploading a near full screen bmp @szadmin. I wont do it again.

Any of you ever assemble a computer?

2 Likes

I’ve been building my own computers since 2001. Love the price discount and the self-satisfaction I get from when it POSTs the first time.

1 Like

Yeah that feeling is great…
Another good one is when something falls on it and it doesnt seem to boot. The you replace the graphics card and everything is good again.

Haha. When did you tackle your first build?

A few years ago… still running.

I had built a few computers before I guess. Took a lot of pc repair classes. Old hardware was cheap to come by but the components werent always compatible. It was always tricky with those to get a good modern OS running. Linux always works but it doesnt always have the software.

1 Like

I build a new one every 18-24 months. The old ones go to friends who need one. Sometimes I’ll harvest a few parts out of them, but rarely. I never buy Windows unless I’m getting paid by someone else to do the build. I have 2 computers. One is a Chromebook, and the other is an Intel 8-core that runs Linux Mint 16.