Gift ideas for a wedding

I’ll be a guest at my Uncle’s wedding on 8th July! :church:

I don’t go to these things very often, but fortunately I do have a suit I can wear. I’m just not sure what to buy them as a gift, because I’ve only met his fiance once and I’m not good at buying presents.

Suggestions please!

Ask them if they have a wedding present list. Some couples do.

3 Likes

When I got married in America in 1992, the couples used to register in some major retail stores and then people were able to buy gifts that were in this register. @everhopeful 's idea is good.

2 Likes

Great idea - I bet my mum will know if there is a list, I’ll ask her this weekend when I’m visiting her

1 Like

Safest bet is to buy a voucher to a store and they can pick out something they like :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’ve never bought vouchers for people before, it seems such a redundant gesture, like if its the thought that counts then I thought very little about it. Then again you could say the same about having a list… I get really upset about gift buying for no real reason. Last two years I stopped buying things at Xmas/Bdays, which was a relief for me. Buuuuut for a Wedding I don’t think I’d get away with it.

Perhaps a voucher would be good on this occasion just for stress relief.

If they don’t have a registry list, a good option is a nice bottle of wine with two glasses and a little card saying, “A toast to your new life together!”

Unless they don’t drink. Then a safe option is to go on Facebook, find a nice picture of them together, print a larger size of it (most photo places will do this for a dollar or so) and put it in a cute frame. Lots of couples nowadays have pictures all over the Internet, but very few printed pictures.

3 Likes

I know but you can’t go wrong with a voucher ,

With most Indian weddings I’ve been to , they have “no boxed gifts “ on the invite. I find that rude. It means they want money :joy:

2 Likes