What is the difference between me and you?

Between psychotic depression and schizophrenia? Doesn’t depression (or at least many symptoms of depression) count as negative symptoms? In which case I have both positive and negative symptoms, required for a diagnosis of schizophrenia. Reading a paper that talked about distinguishing the two mentioned that depression with psychotic features has the individual displaying psychotic symptoms only while in a depressive episode, but this is not the case for me. I experience positive symptoms all the time, depressed or not. In fact I have noticed that more commonly when I am depressed I have LESS positive symptoms. It is only rarely that I have experienced both a depressive and psychotic episode at the same time, and those were really, really awful.

My pdoc tells me she thinks I’m not schizophrenic because I have a higher degree of lucidity during my episodes. I am aware when I am experiencing something that other people would think is strange and I hide that I am experiencing those things, whereas a schizophrenic in a psychotic episode would have no awareness, would not hide it and would be hospitalized. It is common of psychotic depression to have this higher degree of lucidity, leading it to often get misdiagnosed or undiagnosed as people hide their positive symptoms.

Anyways I guess there’s just a fine line between the two. Anyone else have any thoughts or also have depression w psychotic features?

2 Likes

Back in 1987 I started out with a diagnosis of major depression with psychotic features. They treated me with Trilafon and tri-cyclic antidepressants. Then they changed my dx to sz and put me on a major tranquilizer.

I have depression with psychotic features. I was thinking of starting a thread on it because there seem to be plenty of questions about it.