The Impact of Vitamin D on Neuropsychiatric Disorders

3 Likes

Here is the part on schizophrenia and vitamin D from that article. I tried to roughly sum up some parts with common words instead of jargon. (Again I have no clinical background.)

just to help myself try and make sense of it. And maybe others might find it interesting too.

Schizophrenia

Definition: Schizophrenia is recognized as a significant mental disorder with both positive symptoms (e.g., delusion and hallucination) and negative symptoms (e.g., blunted influence, and emotional and social withdrawal). These symptoms may adversely affect the psychological, occupational, or interpersonal functioning of an individual, and its consistency [31].

Epidemiology: Schizophrenia is a debilitating neurological illness that affects approximately 1% of the world’s population. The Ministry of Health of Saudi Arabia estimated that 22.4% of those treated at outpatient mental health facilities suffered from psychiatric and behavioral problems induced by schizophrenia and delusional problems [31].

Relationship between vitamin D deficiency and schizophrenia: Kinney et al. [32] mentioned that prenatal vitamin D deficiency is a significant etiological factor in schizophrenia.

A study (by Kinney and other researchers) mentioned that vitamin D deficiency during pregnancy (“pre-natal” means before birth) is a significant causal factor for schizophrenia.

The incidence of vitamin D deficiency increases with latitude and cold weather because the skin’s exposure to UVB radiation from sunlight is the only natural source of vitamin D, where the decreased hours and strength of sunlight in higher latitudes make it impossible for people to obtain enough vitamin D, especially in winter months. Skin color also affects the absorption of UVB radiation from sunlight and one’s ability to synthesize vitamin D [32].