Ted Talks Elyn Saks on Seeing Mental Illness

1 Like

Elyn said she saw someone standing there with a knife.

I know what she means.

They were ā– ā– ā– ā– ā– ā– ā–  with her pretty good werenā€™t they.

She described it as terror, pure and true and deep terror.

Yeah, Iā€™ve known terror!

Jayster

1 Like

Yes, me as well.

It was horrible.

And still is.

1 Like

Click on ā€˜Interactive Transcriptā€™ if you would rather read then listen to the posted video.

So Iā€™m a woman with chronic schizophrenia. Iā€™ve spent hundreds of days in psychiatric hospitals. I might have ended up spending most of my life on the back ward of a hospital, but that isnā€™t how my life turned out. In fact, Iā€™ve managed to stay clear of hospitals for almost three decades, perhaps my proudest accomplishment. Thatā€™s not to say that Iā€™ve remained clear of all psychiatric struggles. After I graduated from the Yale Law School and got my first law job, my New Haven analyst, Dr. White, announced to me that he was going to close his practice in three months, several years before I had planned to leave New Haven. White had been enormously helpful to me, and the thought of his leaving shattered me.
0:54