My Triglycerides are OVER 500! Which Meds are to Blame?

I take Abilify 15 and Seroquel 100 every day. 6 months ago I had my cholesterol checked with normal labs and everything was perfectly normal. I had a physical yesterday and they called to tell me my triglycerides (a type of cholesterol) are over 500, which is considered “dangerously high”.

I know some APs can cause high cholesterol. Which of these is more likely to be the reason, Abilify or Seroquel? If I stop the medication will my cholesterol go back to normal? Waiting to hear back from my psychiatrist!!! SO FREAKING SCARED RIGHT NOW like does this mean I’m gonna have a heart attack at any second I just don’t know.

Please talk to your doctors about it.
My guess would be Seroquel.
But I’m not a doctor :slight_smile:

1 Like

That’s at a normal level for me and I’m just on abilify. Abilify did raise my blood sugar though and they put me on metformin for it and it’s normal now too.

But I freaked out like you when I found out about the high blood sugar.

The important thing is you’re getting blood tests and catching these problems.

1 Like

According to this article it’s probably not abilify. But who knows.

1 Like

Sugars and carbs can contribute to this.

Definitely talk to your dr, he or she would know much more than we do. I had to get lipid panels done every few months when I was on Zyprexa, never had to have it done while on Abilify, and I wasn’t on Seroquel long enough to need or know about any sort of testing. Triglyceride is just a fancy word for fat; eating a lot of fatty/greasy food would contribute.

I don’t eat fatty or greasy food. I had to cut that out of my diet over a year ago because of my gallbladder and over the past six months have cut out carbs and added more fruits and vegetables. My diet is great.

2 Likes

I have high Triglyceride.
High — 200 to 499 mg/dL (2.3 to 5.6 mmol/L)

According to Mayo Clinic,