Meth Psychosis Settling Time and Psychosis

I am a former meth user, clean and sober now but still in psychosis with delusions. My dr prescribed Latuda but it made me so nauseated and my mood so down that I told her that I would rather not take it if I don’t have to.

I still have delusional thoughts and see things I know others do not but they are not upsetting me. I wonder if they might just go away without any meds at all with time. And how would I know if I started meds without trying?

When I discussed this with my dr. she just said that she can’t force me to take meds and said the things I see and hear might go away or they might not.

Has anyone else been in this situation?

2 Likes

Hi! My opinion is that is better to stay on meds

3 Likes

I’m not a psychiatrist nor do I consider myself to be an expert in the matter. My background is chemistry (completed premed curriculum but don’t want to be a doctor) and some biochemistry.

From the perspective of DSM-5, if you are psychotic for months (or years) after using substances then it is not a substance-induced psychotic disorder, it is schizophrenia or whatever other diagnosis. Substance-induced psychotic disorder/mood disorder, etc. should wane with clearing of the offending substance. We can argue about this nosologically, but the DSM-5 (for all its limitations) is quite clear that if you have symptoms more than a month after drug use, then it’s not a substance-induced disorder.