Memantine cause delusion

I’m tired of it, I only used memantine (5 mg) for a couple of days, on the third it has already caused delirium. I lack performance, my schizophrenia is hard to treat. Modafinil is banned in my country, I have been using meldonium, mildronate the last couple of days, it helps with my anxiety a lot, better than anything I have tried, but I am afraid it will also provoke delusions.
I work as a tutor for schoolchildren, and I am really very afraid that I might hurt them or not be able to cope with my responsibilities. I am having suicidal thoughts again.

Is this through your doctor?

If you are feeling suicidal or having a mental health crisis, please tell someone — a friend or family member, a teacher, a doctor or therapist or call 911 (if you’re in the U.S.) or the Emergency Medical Services phone number in your country.

You can also call a crisis intervention hotline—these are available in the U.S. and in many other countries. You do not need to be actively suicidal to benefit from a crisis hotline.

International crisis hotlines:

Crisis hotlines in the U.S.:

More resources:

It can cause psychosis and its an Alzheimer med, who put you on it? Are you taking it without a Dr?

2 Likes

I’m not going to make excuses, but I have unlimited access to different medications.

I wouldn’t be messing with it as pointed out it’s known to cause psychosis let alone with interactions.

1 Like

From Wikipedia:

Severe side effects may include blood clots, psychosis, and heart failure.

1 Like

Yeah. I feel it, lately it has been.

That’s dangerous. Don’t go taking meds without the suggestion and approval of your doctor.

No place for excuses, but there are objective reasons

1. I live in poor Russia without a social support system
  2. I have no money for a private psychiatrist
  3. The psychiatrist will not understand me because