Listening vs Speaking

I work in sales so it’s my job to talk. I’m adept to it as I’ve been in sales for the past 9 years. But in social settings, I’m still a wreck. My socializing consists of 12-step meetings and an occasional date.

Sometimes I stay too quiet when I should speak up and sometimes I can’t shut up. As I see it, it’s a dammed if you did dammed it you didn’t type deal. Either way I usually end up ruminating about the whole thing.

My guess is most sz stay quiet and prefer to observe or check out than participate. What’s your modus operandi when being social?

9 Likes

I genuinely enjoy knowing how people are doing more than telling how I’m doing…

6 Likes

I think it’s a 50/50 thing. Doesn’t always have to be tho like if someone’s having a bad day. Give and take

2 Likes

I am described as taciturn in person. I am quiet to the extent I can unnerve people.

3 Likes

I have trouble hearing people in group settings because i cant focus on 1 voice. I just hear them all at once plus whoever is nearby plus all the other noises.
So i take 5mg of ritalin before group meetups and that seems to help me.

For years id just see lips moving but the information is just going bye bye.

Maybe a small coffee would help? I used to just have coffee in the past. Not too much though or you would be nervous.

Maybe a green tea instead is more energising yet calming.

I usually try to pick out something i can make a joke about. Thats my natural style though. Im not a serious person in general.

2 Likes

Sometimes I take initiative in conversation, but usually I follow the other person(s) lead. I think it’s more because of a foggy brain from meds than a lack of confidence. It’s easier to follow than lead.

3 Likes

For conversation tip.

Ask questions so that the others can keep talking and you can just chill.

Learn how to nod and say things like "oh yeah? , oh interesting, wow thats wild, no way? 100%, i agree, that makes sense.

Just canned responses.