Have you watched a family member die of alcoholism?

sorry
my sister is basically dying

Yes, and until a few years ago I was on the same path.

It’s painful. You wish you could help them, but sometimes you cant

1 Like

I’m happy that you are recovering - that’s good to hear. Congrats ODAAT

she talks to herself, believes past lives, gets severe DT’s, leaves with no word and gets lost in the wilderness, is aggressive controlling of my mum
She has been delusional for 6 years - Isolating completely in a darkened room

1 Like

there is no end to the hell she is causing and it’s not even her fault

1 Like

She has been painting her room with pink and blue abstracts, takes all the lightbulbs out, because they are too bright
all the lucid times have rapidly been disappearing she has been on a very steep decline since about March

Does she seek treatment?

I’m really sorry to hear that @Toshiko. No, i’ve never watched someone from my own family die of alcholism, but i’m a nurse and have seen someone i’ve looked after die from it. It isn’t pretty, as i’m sure you’re aware. I have members of my family that are alcoholics, but they don’t appear to be at the level your sister is at. Has she sought treatment?

@Toshiko, your sister is probably psychotic and is self medicating herself by alcohol,
The only way to save her is putting her under treatment by force, maybe an injection of flupentixol or anything else,
Don’t abandon her,

My family made me take meds and I was very angry with them but now I’m thankful that they did that,

Loss of a sister is painful, save her anyway,

her psychosis is late stage alcoholism. We have watched it develop over the past 28 years

If there were a way to convince the police or the pysch services or her probation officer then possibly she could be helped.
Because of her relationship with Alcohol no one wants to know.

They walk away saying ‘i wish i could help’ or ‘it is her right to kill herself, it’s not a crime’