Conclusion~ "Art therapy is not merely 'arts and crafts'"

So. Dear Reader, What Are Your Thoughts?. Have You Experienced ‘Art Therapy’ Yourself?.

Does Anyone Think, Watching Television, Listening to Music, Reading, And or Writing, Can Be a Form of Helpful Self Expression in And of Itself?. Or!, Could Being Somehow Involved in Something Perhaps, Too Abrasive, Like Any Form of Art Could Cause More Trouble Than it’s Worth?.

Any Thoughts With Those Questions, And!, or The Article Posted is Welcomed!.

And Feel Free to Ask Your Own (!!!)… . … :snake: :lizard: :snake:

1 Like

I’ve been told I’m a good writer but other then that I am not very artistic or creative. So for an art therapist to try to make me as artistic as everybody else in a roomful of people who it always seems are more creative than me, it does not help me.

The two things they made me do that I would never do voluntarily, but I was forced to do was art therapy and guided relaxation exercises. My understanding was that they were supposed to be helpful and kinda fun.

I never found either of them helpful or fun so what’s the point?

It’s like the art therapist and the meditation leader got their degree in Nazi Germany: “Achtung! This is art therapy. You vill have fun right NOW! You vill enjoy yourself, this is an ORDER. Or you vill suffer the consequences!!!”

2 Likes

I wasn’t very creative as a kid. I could see that reflected in my personality and behavior.

But as an adult I love writing music especially and expressing myself and it clearly shows in how I present myself

I enjoyed art therapy when I did PHP. It really helped me to express things that may have been hard for me to talk about. I still remember a phrase I made cutting out different words from magazines for one art project “I want happiness that lasts and lasts”