Clozapine advice needed urgently!

I am imminently due to start a treatment of clozapine after several failed successes of alternative medication. I am a full time student (mature student) I also work part time, I go to the gym daily and at times social, albeit, not as social as I once was. Today, I met with my support worker who provided me with more information regarding clozapine and the side affects, which to be honest scares me. But, I am still eager to pursue the treatment as it may change my life for the better.

I submit this post solely for the purpose of insight and to prepare and protect myself. I am looking to hear from people who have used this medication who would be kind enough to share their thoughts and experiences with me. Regardless of how good or bad, I am only interested in the truth, that will enable me to form a plan while taking the medication.

Thank you

4 Likes

Clozapine helps you feel calmer
I’m on 325
200 at night
I sleep like a dream every night
I have to put disposable sheets on bed as bed wetting at night
I have gained weight but manageable with I do a lot of walking and eat lots fruits vegetables
High fibre diet
It hasn’t cleared up all of my symptoms
Sometimes I experience breakthrough symptoms paranoia and voices I am unable to do paid work
But I volunteer every morning in different organisation
I do ok but I am unable to do much social stuff or work paid
I have parents for support but no freind go out with
It may be different for you considering your circumstances
Some people do very well on it and get back to work
I just telling you honestly my experience

6 Likes

Thank you very much for this. How long have you been on clozapine?

A good ten years now
I take seroxat also

3 Likes

And the bed wetting is consistent? It is not just a short term side effect?

It is persistent
To tell the truth I don’t really notice whether it’s still doing it but it’s not too wet
You also have to turn up for blood test once a month

3 Likes