Can psychosis be responsible for pain?

I am just wondering that because I have been in pain for a few weeks now. I wrote a topic about here before. I thought it might be the flu but it can’t be that. I’m in agony now. It is far worse than it was before. I am also taking vitamin d supplements as my GP initially thought it was that or depression but they don’t help. Now I am worried if this is going to go away or not.

I feel demotivated to do anything and work is becoming increasingly difficult. Walking up is a pain. I am always tired. I am gaining weight. I had to force myself to walk home today for exercise (45 mins it took me). I have been planning to do that for weeks. Everything just feels like a struggle.

I am seeing my GP about it tomorrow. Thank god I get extra time off work I hate the site of the place.

I am not sure about psychosis being responsible for pain. I’m not a doctor, but try to massage your hurting limbs, I do that and it helps my pain. A hot pack will do it too. they are easy to make and heat up. If you want a homemade hot pack, get rice and put it into an old sock that you do not use anymore and then tie the sock shut, then put it in the microwave for about 1 minute. Then put it wherever it hurts.

1 Like

Anxiety and depression can cause physical pain. Namely muscle and nerve pain. Treating the symptoms often involves antidepressants and/or neurologics. Cymbalta and Lyrica in the USA are often used as first line treatments.

Definitely discuss these symptoms with your doc. And I pray you get some relief very soon!

Blessings,

Anthony

3 Likes

The brain and body are so linked and it’s amazing what physical ailments can do to the mind. It’s amazing what the mind can do to the body. You could have a game of catch going on here. One thing hit’s the body which makes the mind wonder what in the world so the mind says, OK, take that body. and the body says, Ok, take that brain…