Becoming a CAD technician

Thought a would post a bit of a life update. I enrolled on a college course a couple of days ago to study CAD, it is only 2 and a half hours a week so I can work while I study. I want to get the City and Guilds Levels 2 + 3 in CAD and try to go for a CAD technician job. I know there is a lot of jobs around for that at the moment so I thought I would give it a go.

11 Likes

Seems like you’d be doing the job of an engineer. I didn’t know a tech could plan a building or machinery.

Makes sense. Thanks @Moonbeam

1 Like

I was wanting to get a job draughting to start off with as it is an entry job. Then I could move on to more creative roles if I wanted to. That would be my dream though to be a creative professional, it always has been my dream job.

I loved CAD when I was in high school. Never pursued in college, which I probably should have. You can be self taught and have a company train you on the job. Its probably harder to go that route but I personally know of someone who did.

If there was something like that come up around here I would definitely take it. Think the chances are low though there is not much training in anything when I was looking for work recently.

I heard this is a good career. I’m not that interested in CAD but I heard you can make good money if you learn it well. Good luck.

I took drafting in high school and learned a bit of AutoCAD my second year. I didn’t pursue it as an occupation but I think it is a good field to get into. I wish you the best in your plans.

Is this the same thing as drafting? I find the differences in UK English and American English so interesting.

I’ve worked with a lot of drafters/designers throughout my career and they all seem to really enjoy their work.

Yes it means the same thing.

1 Like

I learned autoCAD in high school, remember very little of it, and I’m surprised anyone still uses it. I used to use a program called DoomCAD to make new levels for Doom also.