Anyone with a degree working in their related field?

Just want to know how a high functioning schizophrenic looks like, apparently i am high functioning also

1 Like

I dropped out of college and went to work when I was 19. I had lots of on the job self study courses over the years along with one or two week training seminars with private software companies (like IBM). I didn’t have anything but a high school diploma until 2003 when I completed a two year associates degree.

1 Like

No but I will be in a couple years im in my junior year of college

I have a degree in architecture from Oklahoma University. lost my career when I got sz.

2 Likes

Lots of people without SZ/SZA don’t end up working in what they studied in.

I even know someone with a PHD in physics and there are so few jobs for someone like him in his field that he is entirely retraining on programming.

3 Likes

Yes, I have a degree in kinesiology/physiotherapy but realized I hated touching people. I wish I studied computer science instead as it also pays much much more.

4 Likes

I’ve worked in my field, but briefly.

It didn’t make as much money as the job I had during college.

So I went back.

2 Likes

I had a job in my field for students, I hated my life back then and it was too stressful, I rage quit after a week. It paid more than minimum but still much less than computer programming.

1 Like

I have a general studies associates. Soon to have a psych associates.

I don’t work in my field though. I don’t even have plans to work in psych. Too many variables. Plus I don’t trust myself to help others with their mental health when mine is frequently poor.

I just like to study the subject more than I do working in it.

I will be going back to school for dental hygiene or optometry.

2 Likes

One of my best friends is currently studying that, he’s doing his last course.

1 Like