Wish I knew advanced math

Anyone studied math in uni?

I wanted to and started reading a uni calculus book. It was mind-boggling and extremely interesting. Unfortunately I lose interest in math too quickly to study it. I’ve always been very good in math. It’s a wasted talent.

2 Likes

This is the book that I have - haven’t studied from it yet though

2 Likes

Start reading it!

1 Like

Its way too advanced for me though, i’d have to study precalculus first

You might surprise yourself.

spivak is hard…good/advanced. I probably would struggle. Try precalculus and or Stewart, which is what I learned and most kids learn at community college. I think caltech uses spivak and apostol.

I wasted a year studying biology at uni before switching to law so I did get a small taste of maths at undergraduate level. I don’t remember enjoying it very much. More recently I studied statistics during my master’s and that was a much more positive experience. I was obsessed with geometry as a child, often working things out sometimes years before they were taught in class. But I was a very troubled child and I simply couldn’t be bothered with discipline. Why am I giving you so much unrequested information? :sweat_smile:

1 Like

I recommend edx and coursera. They’lll walk you through it.

The funny thing is calculus isn’t really that advanced in hindsight. I think proving math is harder like real analysis, proving the theory behind calculus. A first upper division course you should take or after linear algebra (upper division). Depends on the teacher and book. Like rudin is considered hard and the standard while I took an easier teacher and text – but that was the time I dropped out. Calculus ain’t easy, but if you enjoy math and have math abilities, you can do it. No point in skipping pre-calculus. Some people think pre-calculus is harder because of the amount of review and material. I took 3 semesters of calculus and then dropped out of a math major at year 4.

1 Like