What questions

My therapist let me borrow a book to read to help me better facilitate my women’s group. It has a whole bunch of exercises and questions that get conversations going. I thought we could do a few of them here. So randomly opening a page:

1. What was the nicest thing ever said about you?

2. What was the worst thing ever said about you?

3. What is the nicest thing you say about yourself?

4. What is the worst thing you say about yourself?

A couple months ago I was called the super-volunteer when I helped out at the health expo, it made me feel great. In high school a girl asked if I had been in a fire because my acne was so bad. I’m not good with positive self-talk, so the nicest thing I say about myself is that my pets love me and I take care of them well. The worst thing I tell myself is that I"m stupid and worthless. I try to stop and say no I’m not stupid, then I have an internal argument and end up listing all the reasons why I am.

2 Likes

Does voices count as other ppl or what I tell myself?

1 Like

Ok by me…

1. I look in the mirror now… and tell myself… I am NOT the person I was before. I’ve grown-up and become kinder, more patient and more at peace.

2. The worst thing? I don’t feel comfortable using that sort of language on a public forum… rated XXX for horrid profanity.

Worst thing said about me? I was lazy… controlling… manipulating and using my illness to manipulate and guilt trip my kid sister.

nicest thing said about me… I over heard my Mom telling a friend how proud she was of me…

3 Likes

1 My sisters boyfriend told me I had integrity.
2 Too dehumanizing and humiliating to say. Some friends have told me I’m nothing.
3 I made this a title of a post a couple months ago. I told myself I was pretty cool for a guy who wears glasses.
4 I’m ugly, I’m nothing, I’m an animal. You asked.

2 Likes

First impressions are often false/
Just my name spoken in a reprimanding way when I’d just been cruel -

I’m an interesting person