The need for other schizophreics

Am I the only one that desires to find people to talk to in person that also are dealing with these issues? I appreciate the company and support on here, but I still desire to meet others. not sure why, but I do.
I meet schizophrenics through work but sense I’m a healthcare provider, I can’t “break character” and tell them that me too…and haven’t really found a way to connect to others and just talk. Maybe learn about different coping skills sense I’m still new to this dx and knowing…

6 Likes

it’s a good sign that you feel comfortable with people at all. Except for my immediate family and cat I can’t really abide being with other people

2 Likes

I would like to meet other schizophrenics.
I asked my pharmacy if there are others taking the same meds as me, and he replied no

2 Likes

@Om_Sadasiva your pharmacist wouldn’t be allowed to tell you if there were due to patient confidentiality

2 Likes

I didn’t ask for their names.
I would give him my address and name, and whoever would feel comfortable would contact me

1 Like

Comfortable is a big word… Realized I need to be social and forcing myself to try and find relatable people is more accurate

1 Like

As a healthcare provider, I can say that most would say no regardless of the how many people on those meds there are… They are very strict on patient confidentiality

3 Likes

Im glad we have a sz on the inside, like a schizophrenic trojan horse. <<— attempt at joke

But ik what you mean. I used to feel the same way. But after meeting so many mi ppl in person i dunno. Like the two i got close to from my group turned out to be very nasty people. And after i found them out. They vanished from the group.

@ablue lol sz Trojan horse. Sorry you had a bad experience meeting other sz people

1 Like

I have the same feeling as you, I want to meet other people like me. I think it’s a sense of wanting to belong

5 Likes

Yes I think that might be it. Other people like me…

1 Like