Schizoaffective disorder. Similar to schizophrenia

All these diagnoses seem to be a continuum. for instance; I was diagnosed with schizophrenia in my early 20’s. In my late 40’s I was given another diagnosis (schizoaffective disorder). My current Psychiatrist said thatSchizoaffective contains elements of both schizophrenia and depression. This is why they call schizoaffective. Elements of a thought disorder and a mood disorder.Does anyone have any similar diagnosis or experience? Does anyone else have an interest in their mental health? Of course everyone here has interest in mental health and recovery. else we wouldn’t be here. I am a musician. Does anyone have an interest in musical science? vibrations? rhythm? I am a drummer. I play evrythin’

I have had many different labels on my file ADD, ADHD, PTSD, OCD, Schizoaffective, Sz. It all shifts around. I’ve had my current diagnosis for a while now. But lately my doc has been leaning forward more and saying… “Hum… interesting.” and then directing me to information about bipolar.

Which makes me lean forward and say… “Hum… interesting”

So maybe my label will change again. All I know is, I can think in complete sentences better then I used to, my meds work and I can remember most of what I did the previous day. So Sz, or Sa, call me what ever you want…

(just don’t call me late for lunch… :laughing:) Sorry… :coffee: :coffee: :coffee: :coffee: :coffee: :coffee:

4 Likes

I have been diagnosed as Major Depressive with psychotic features, bipolar for a short while and now schizoaffective depressive type. It seems difficult to treat my depression without causing hallucinations. I also suffer from migraines and seasonal allergies. So I am a walking mess.