I can't decide; the sequel

Lots of people have told me to try graphic design again, as a career (I have a diploma in it, and many years trying to do it and failing), but I don’t want to go into that again. Looking back, I turned to art as a child, as a way to escape. I didn’t question whether I really wanted to do it. I didn’t mind that it was boring…it got me respect from others. Everyone else gave me compliments all the time, and they all just assumed I’d do something related to art. In high school, people asked to see my art book all the time. What an ego feeding!

Part of me didn’t want to disappoint them by quitting. I got to the point where I can paint fairly realistic fantasy/sci fi art work without much reference. But it isn’t what I want to do either. Besides, only a handful of the cream-of-the-crop artists get hired by people like Blizzard. I wanted to be a pro athlete, in my late teens, but it was too late at that point. It’s interesting just how fast I dropped the art when I found something more rewarding.

My problem is that I still have no idea what I want to do. I’m behind in social skills because of the escapism that I did throughout my child and teen years (and into my 20s and 30s). I think I might be a damaged extrovert. All my hobbies, like crochet and knitting, go for far less than what they’re worth. I don’t even want to bother with Etsy. I wonder: When did getting lots of money become important to me? I don’t consider myself greedy, and yet it’s so important. Anyway, it was good to write all this down. I’ll keep thinking on it.

Money is important! We need it for absolutely everything. Giving back what you can afford to give is something that brings me great joy, but might not apply to you.