How many of you have college degrees?

I want to go back to college and get a degree in substance abuse Counseling. I’ve hit rock bottom many times do to my illness and substance abuse. I want to change all that and do better. Is it possible for someone like me to get a degree? Advice please!

3 Likes

I have a master of science in biology. I dealt primarily with bipolar stuff in undergrad, then rapid severe cycling and psychosis in med school, which I had to leave due to that. I completed most of the requirements for my M.S. during a period of pretty much total remission. I was pretty sick when I completed the last requirements: finishing the thesis, seminar and oral defense.

3 Likes

I was late onset but my sensitivity to the world was evident when I earned my degree in my twenties…I have a degree in Architecture…

1 Like

Do you have a career in what you studied?

I am bipolar but I have two associates, one in audio engineering and the other in psychology. I was going back to get a bachelor’s in computer science. Probably too much schooling but it is my main choice for a good salary career unless I finish a bachelor’s in psychology and also go to grad school, which would take roughly the same amount of time as a cs degree but would be more expensive

1 Like

Sort of. I tried working in labs, and it never went well. Now I teach biology part-time at a community college.

2 Likes

You can totally do it!! I’m planning on eventually getting back into it. And I believe we can both do it.

My advice is try not to overload yourself

2 Likes

Haven’t figured out exactly how I’m going to do it but I know I am going for it!

3 Likes

Go for it you guys :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have a MCA (Master of Computer Applications) degree completed in 2004. I completed the degree at the peak of my illness and we didn’t have even proper medicines then.

2 Likes

I managed to complete my degree but the last year I was psychotic so I missed a lot of the lectures.