How do you learn to live with the voices?

How do you learn to live with the voices? My psychologist told me to use mindfulness to handle the voices. Not be afraid of them, just accept they are there. Not interact with them.

Yesterday morning I was the only one awake. I heared a child say “Mom?” several times from the livingroom. I went and checked if my son was there. He was not. He was sleeping in his bed with the door closed. How can I NOT react on this kind of voices?
Now I’m home alone. I have ear phones on listening to Slipknot. I don’t want to hear voices. I felt someone standing behind me in the kitchen today. Creepy ■■■■. Now I lie in my bed. Back down. Nobody can be sneaking up on me from behind.

I am sorry you hear voices from time to time. It’s really confusing and creepy. I know you are happy with abilify and don’t want to change it, so you have to tolerate voices. I have no experience in coping with voices but I wish you good luck with handling voices.

1 Like

Hey!
From the sounds of it… A little creepy isn’t it? Not to make myself sound like a douch or anything.
Any things that may help?
Other than medication. I suggest meditation: Try and focus the voices out and hear what are actually there.
I know, by experiences, the voices are hard to deal with! I can give you a tip what I do at some points.

I try to focus a voice out. Know you may get rid of one, but, it may be replace by another! So don’t feel like it isn’t working. Its’ like a threat and of course they will react to it! ^.^ I’m just trying to get you to listen carefully to everything around you. Try and distant the voices away by telling what actual sounds are around you. By knowing what are the actual sounds. The voices should slightly fade away.

Key(s)

1. Look around you.
  2. Focus on the things that are creating ‘noise’ that way. You can focus more on what the noise is, instead of, what it isn’t.
  3. Put them together to make a solid sound barrier.