Do you work?

Do you work?

I’m struggling to concentrate so I’m off work sick but I’m wondering if I should give up on work and accept my disability.

I’m a software engineer, I need my mind to think.

6 Likes

I’m a software engineer too. It’s hard at times to deal with the stress. Lately the work load has been easier for me to handle but it’s not always the case. I often consider quitting and looking for an easier job like translator or part-time tutor.

You know yourself best. Do what you think is right but don’t push yourself past a certain limit. You might relapse or experience depression.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. I work. I’m worried I’m going to lose my job soon, like this week, but I guess I’ll see what happens. I don’t move fast enough at work. These meds make my movements all sluggish and ■■■■, not to mention being a perfectionist works against me gaining speed.

Normally I work two part-time jobs, one teaching at a community college, as well as a crap job. I couldn’t do online teaching, though, overwhelmed me. Maybe I’ll resume teaching when in-person classes resume, but that probably won’t be until next fall at the earliest.

Psychiatrist I see always recommend me to continue working

1 Like

You may have to change the type of work you do. I used to work in Information Technology, but the stress of it was affecting my health. I’m now in insurance and find that, while the pay isn’t as good, it doesn’t affect my mental health as profoundly as my former career did.

Welcome to the community!

:blush:

3 Likes

This happened to me too!

What was it about the IT job that set you back?