Anybody in grad/PhD school?

Hi everybody. I used to post here in my early twenties, some fifteen+ years ago.

Is anybody here in graduate school, going for the PhD or working in academia?

My breakdown happened when I was in college when I was twenty. I was an honors college student, and it was really hard on my self image to not be able to complete a degree. Afterwards I tried to work but my symptoms made it impossible. I got diagnosed, and a doctor told me I probably wouldn’t ever work and gave me disability paperwork. Receiving 400 dollars a month and living with my parents, it seemed like I’d never be able to go back to school. But in my thirties my then-partner encouraged me to go to community college. Grants were available, and I could essentially go for free. I did very well, transferred to the nearest university, graduated there with honors, and completed my master’s there. Now I’m going for my PhD, in my third year of my program.

School hasn’t been easy. I don’t have good social skills, and I rarely ever speak. I completed my undergraduate degree without having said a word to anybody that wasn’t mandatory. My positive symptoms are generally well-managed, although voices come and go in intensity, particularly when I’m under stress.