A computer issue for any of you experts

My computer is set to go to sleep after a certain period of inactivity. I then have to log on again where I’m returned to where I was re apps that are open.

What I’ve found recently is that on doing so the screen flickers brighter then darker. Shutting down and restarting Firefox and Thunderbird seems to solve the problem . The funny thing is this is a new problem.

I wondered about refresh rates but my options are only 60 and 40. I’m reluctant to go to 40 in case that messes things up completely .

Any thoughts from the computer experts here are most welcome.

1 Like

@velociraptor might be able to help.

1 Like

I would clean the harddrive or defragment it. When that doesn’t help i factoryreset. I am not an expert.

2 Likes

Sounds like a problem with your monitor and not your computer. Do you have a second monitor or a TV you can try to test if it’s your monitor?

4 Likes

That’s hard to do as it’s a laptop.

1 Like

If you have an hdmi output you can still do it. If it’s an old laptop it might have a dvi input instead. It’s also possible that you might be able to cast from your laptop to a TV, but I’d check for an hdmi or dvi output first.

1 Like

If you post a picture of your inputs, I can tell you if it has one.

1 Like

Unfortunately no means of posting such pictures. Thanks for the advice, but it’s way above my techno know how.

They’ve still not learnt how to make all this stuff simple for us techno simpletons .

1 Like

Well if you know the name of your computer (its model) I can Google it for you. Then if it has an hdmi output, you just need to buy an hdmi to hdmi cable and connect it to a TV or monitor with an hdmi input. That’s really the simplest way to test this. But I’m pretty sure that it is your screen, and not your computer. And since it’s a laptop, the only way to fix that would be to send it to a computer repairs shop.