Is Abilify one of the biggest Con's ever?

I’m not an expert by a long way, pretty stupid actually, but? If Abilify has the opposite effect of increasing D2 Dopamine which most antipsycotics block does that mean it’s impossible to get off. Being fine without meds is a reality for a few it happened to me for a number of years before trying illegal drugs. So would it mean it’s impossible to get off???

I’m not sure what you mean… I was on Abilify for a while, and had to go off it because of losing insurance, and I’ve had no withdrawal symptoms. Right now I’m not on any antipsychotics, and doing just fine.

Or did you mean something else by “get off”? Because if so, that hasn’t been a problem either, lol.

1 Like

I’m not sure what you mean by “it’s impossible to get off”. Also Abilify is a partial agonist, which I understand to mean that it does not block D2 but rather “feeds” it with dopamine-like molecules that keep it from actually being activated by dopamine.

I’ve never found a reference saying that it increases the D2 dopamine receptors. Granted, it does not block them, otherwise I couldn’t take the drug because my D2 receptors seem to be directly connected to my ability to have menstruation and with a tendency to lactate uncontrollably which I have if I take a regular antipsychotic.

I’ve never found a reference of it causing addiction either, if that’s what you mean.

I’m glad you’re off random illegal drugs. It seems to be a mined field for those close to me.

1 Like

I mean get off the drug and not need another. Give your symptoms time to return my symptoms take 5 months to return after oral antipsycotics and 8 months after injections

Why would you want to give your symptoms time to return? Are you aware that in many papers it is argued that each relapse burns a certain amount of your neurons? Why would you experiment like that on yourself?