Resperidone ruined my life

I WAS DIAGNOSED WITH MILD PARANOID SCHIZOPHRENIA AND THE DOC PUT ME ON RESPERIDONE. I SUFFERED SIGNIFICANT SHORT TERM MEMORY LOSS FROM RISPERIDONE.Since I am a student I had to give up on resperidone for this reason.By my memory never recovered a bit and its been 5 years and i have not been able to pass a single exam since then.Does anyone know how to get the memory back?Plz help me get my life back

1 Like

No guarantees, but have you tried taking these supplements?
Ginkgo Biloba, L-Theanine, Ginseng, and Eleuthero Root extract.
All these enhance brain function and help memory.

2 Likes

I wish I had known that this was a side effect… !

oh god how awful…wishing you the best…

There is a good chance that it is the illness and not the meds

5 Likes

Risperdol can… not everyone but some.

Risperdal may cause memory loss.
This drug may also cause the following symptoms that are related to memory loss:…

Im on Risperdal, sure my memory is not the greatest, but it was worse on Abilify - Its the illness. Meds can cause memory issues, but I think that AP’s causing serious memory loss is a rarity

2 Likes

I am on risperidone. My memory is not the greatest, but I still managed to get straight A’s, and perfect test scores on two of my last three tests. Study study study.

1 Like

Yay…memory must be ok because there’s a lot of short term involved with school unless you already have known it. I read on another site that it’s just a percentage that have memory loss, so not everyone experiences that.

If on risperidone, the patient’s memory hit the bottom around the second year, after that, the memory gets back a bit. I guess CarolineC may have taken risperidone for more than 3 years or just in the first year.

greenlife