In The Rooms - A Global Recovery Community (Addiction)

Whether you are in Recovery, seeking immediate help, a family member, friend or ally, register for InTheRooms NOW! You’ll get exclusive free access to Daily Meditations, Speaker Tapes, and over 100 LIVE, ONLINE, Recovery Support Video Meetings for AA, NA, Eating Disorders and more! There are over 338,294 members who are willing to share their experience, strength and hope with YOU.

http://www.intherooms.com/

2 Likes

very handy to know barbie thanks,

i just started studying about drug use/misuse at college and i think that covers alcoholism as well

2 Likes

I took a class about drugs and booze. Honors drug and alcohol behavior. I made a B

over here the word narcotics has a very different meaning

Yeah narcotic is a scientific term. So is alcoholism. My professor said a true alcoholic is addicted and physiologically dependent on ethanol. They get delirium tremens when they don’t have their booze.

Oh my… Not quit an up to date idea of alcoholism by your professor. Stereotypical and bad cases yes. I have know alcoholics who have come clean/dry and no delirium tremors :wink:

i’m thinking about going to a recovery meeting,

its for drug addicts and alcoholics but its also for other types of recovery

i went to a meeting last week and i saw some of them speak and it was pretty cool hearing some of their stories of recovery and they were very brave to speak in front of us (a crowd of about 50 people)
and they were singing as well, and it wasn’t forced or anything they were genuinely happy.

3 Likes

Well it’s not an absolute that DT happens, just a lot of the time- it’s common. Idk she said a true alcoholic has to be physiologically addicted to alcohol. It makes sense because addictions are psychological (not a concrete addiction, not quantitative) or physiological (measurable symptoms of withdrawal, physical symptoms like blood pressure, vomiting, sweating)