Have you had a job you hated but we're unable to get a better one

I worked in a factory for 14 years and I hated it so much. It was very boring and a dead end job, I was suicidal almost all the time I worked there, I would look at the jobs in the job centre window, but I could never find a full time job that I could do.

3 Likes

Factory? I would prefer to live in a homeless shelter.

1 Like

I hated factory work, too, though I did it for only a few months. I once spent years working at a 7-eleven, absolutely hated it, especially with all of my education going to waste, but I couldn’t get anything better at the time and had zero confidence in my ability to do a more challenging job. I eventually got a part-time teaching job seven years ago, so I was able to scale back 7-eleven to part-time, but still did it for years until two and a half years ago when I started at the pharmacy, a much more challenging job. Now I’m on the verge of starting a new job as a hospital pharmacy tech, much better job with much better pay and benefits. It has taken many years (going back to 2008’s psychotic break), but I have gradually rebounded to something better :slight_smile:. Just hope nothing screws this up for me, like another psychotic break; I don’t think I could start over again.

2 Likes

Has any of you seen the movie “The Machinist” ? With Christian Bale…

1 Like

Yes, perhaps not as bad as you, but yes

The fact is, that in the western world, unless you have a good safety network (state services, community, family), you are going to “have to” have a job.

Are you sure you haave no other options?