Do negative symptoms stay constant or do they come and go?

I’ve always had negative symptoms, and it’s gotten worse over the years. Im a little conflicted because some people say it’s from their meds, and some people say it only happens to them when they’re in psychosis. But I seem to always have them. What about you?

I always have them, sometimes it’s better sometimes it’s worse

2 Likes

They improve over time if you work on them, meds make them better and not worse,

Welcome to the forum,

i have positive symptoms more that affects me than negative… I do have negative though.

Thank you, it’s good to be part of this community. I’m new to treatment after a few years since my last big episode

2 Likes

My negative symptoms are awful lately,
I’m hoping antidepressants help.
Hope things get better for you!

I kind of feel great till I get my depotinjection. Than i got to deal with negative symptoms. It’s like a hangover, feeling depressed and i can’t think clear. This feeling last about 2 days and i get good.

For me, negative symptoms are pretty constant at the same level. What varies is my depression levels. Luckily positive symptoms are under control completely.

I’m bipolar and started hearing loud constant voices. After risperidone I have anhedonia and avolition. Also poverty of thought. These are not negatives from schizophrenia, they are from meds.

My negative symptoms fluctuate. Sometimes I’m ok and sometimes I just don’t want to get out of bed.

I don’t think my negatives ever really get better to the point where I’m good the whole week. Sometimes I have good or bad days though I think due to how much meds or caffeine I take, and how much energy I spent up.

So you’re saying that negative symptoms are caused by meds?