Coding/programming job

I’m recently diagnosed with schizophernia, I’m now not working, I’m very sad and depressed. I would like to know if any body is working as a programmer, doing coding and have mental sickness ? can you able to work/code ?

I would like to hear from programmers that have mental sickness good news or bad news.

Hi, I was diagnosed almost 10 years ago with schizoaffective disorde, bipolar type, and am on a lot of meds, was in and out (mostly in) of hospitals for 6 years (age 17-23), then 5 years later once for 3 weeks (med tweak) and couldn’t function. I have a degree in computer engineering, which had more software than hardware.

I do a lot of c# and SQLite for Windows store apps, PHP and MySQL for online apps and HTML5 and CSS, as well as dabbling in graphics design. I do it freelance, as I’m going back to school in September, for a trade (welding) and there are no jobs in it in my region.

I can program most days, but if I’m symptomatic, I can’t, and get frustrated easily. I tend to be better at it after taking morning meds and going later into the day, and at night, I’m burned out.

It depends on the situation. I work best at programming from home with my own schedule, and do badly at companies with set hours and extra stress put on. Stress knocks me right down, and I unravel. It does improve, though.

Even sometimes when I have paranoid symptoms or delusions I’m still able to code, but its difficult. If I’m full out psychotic, I can’t do anything.

It is 100% possible to continue to code, I’ve actually learned most of the programming languages I use in the past 5-6 years. Taking a break from working can help with symptoms of sz, but it depends on how you handle working to go back to it. I find freelance is pretty stress-free.

2 Likes

Thanks so much you gave me a hope!