Anybody want to work but have a really bad resume?

I am looking for a job. I’m out of work now and my concern is that I haven’t been able to hold a job for more than like 9 months at most and have had a lot of short term jobs. I really want to work but my resume sucks due to being out of work and in and out of hospitals. I used just fake wanting a long term job in interviews but my options are running low. Anyone else like this?

3 Likes

My resume is that I graduated only from middle school and that I have never had a job and I’m now 25, what are my chances? :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I have similar issue , i just say the jobs were contracts to get away with it, which they were although those were not reasons for leaving.

1 Like

i would like to have a job too.

but just as u i have been out of work but in my case its been a long time.

the main reason i couldnt grab a job was bcoz i couldnt clear the technical interview, i was applying for a computer programmer job, my old profession.

so now its tough to get a job and if i tell them i have sz they will just reject me.

2 Likes

Even I have the same problem … can’t hold onto a job even for a few months quit 3 to 4 jobs till now and been jobless since 2017.

1 Like

I have been in and out of jobs my whole life, but now, after my recent depression, my social worker said that i might have to go on disability. Im 52 years old and very tired and “burned out” by my MI, so i might do it, even i prefer to work.

1 Like

It’s tough to have gaps in one’s resume.

Employers should understand that “Life Happens” and there are unforeseen circumstances that can affect employment history.

Some advice I got was to organize my resume not chronologically, but by function:

What do you have experience in?

…If it’s something like retail, organize your resume in categories pertaining to retail.

Look up “functional resume” and you’ll get tons of templates.

Good luck!

2 Likes