Am I allowed to work with ssi or ssdi?

I’m thinking of applying. I’m a student and I’m screwing up really really bad in school because I can’t balance work and school. I want to keep my job but work drastically less hours so I can keep up in school. As of now that’s out of the question because if I don’t work as many hours as I work now there’s no way I can afford to live. I was hoping to supplement my income with it so I can do well in school. Is applying for ssi or ssdi a bad idea if this is my plan?

Also what’s the best way to go about getting info on this? Do I just walk into the dss office? Do I need an appointment?

4 Likes

I wouldn’t try to do both full time work and part time school or something remotely along those lines. Even for a normal person that is very difficult. If you are working towards a degree you can usually get a loan from school for room and board. If it is community college, I think part time work plus 2-3 classes would be ok. What is your situation right now? If you did not get your college degree yet, I highly recommend focusing on that. High functioning people can have a very hard time getting Ssi. You have to wait for months without working, how would you support yourself? I got denied and told I probably won’t get it, even though I wasn’t working at the time.

3 Likes

I don’t know if you can apply for it if you are “able” to work. I’d try to get in contact with your local social security office they should be able to answer your questions a lot more accurately

2 Likes

National number for Social Security: 1-800-772-1213.
Good to call as early in the day as you can as later in the day the it tends to get busier and it might be a longer wait time on hold to get a live person to talk to.