Has your mental illness gotten worse over time?

My Schizoaffective/Bipolar has gotten worse over the years.
There was a time when I worked as a Special Ed Aide and Substitute Teacher and I was married, owned my own home, had some friends, etc…

Today at 52years old, I am on Disability and can barely get off of the couch.
I am Divorced, have no friends and am Socially Withdrawn.
My mood swings and positive symptoms seem to have worsened over time as well.

Positive Symptoms are suppose to mellow out as one ages, but mine seem to have worsened.

My Negative Symptoms and Cognition have deteriorated basically.

I’m barely functioning.

Has your SZ worsened or gotten better over time?

6 Likes

for me it depends on how well i am responding to the meds. when i was on invega at very high doses i could barely function. i felt like nobody cared.

2 Likes

The jury is out on my case.
I just turned 24.
Have this disease for 3.5 years. Ups and downs.
Talk to me after 15 years.

2 Likes

There have been good years and bad years. So far I’ve been doing alright. I haven’t done anything productive with my life in a few years so sometimes I feel worthless. Also I’ve progressively been getting dumber with age and the meds. Last year wasn’t too bad. I hope this will be a better year. I think overall I’ve gotten worse but that is in comparison with life before the illness. It hasn’t really gotten better since.

2 Likes

Things have gotten really bad lately. I’d say I’m doing worse than I’ve ever done before.

2 Likes

Has your mental illness gotten worse over time?

No, it’s doing just fine.

4 Likes

The depression definitely got worse over time. I’m not sure if I can say the psychosis improved, but I got a lot better at managing it.

2 Likes

For me each day is getting better

4 Likes

Yeah, or more like the meds quit working. I was stable and productive on Geodon for quite some time- although the other meds I was on and other substances caused some serious shyt.