Wonder what I should do-career thoughts

My current want is to be a psychiatric nurse practitioner. However I have no experience whatsoever with nursing or even working in the psych field. Therefore I don’t actually know if I’ll like it. I tried out research and realized I wasn’t really thrilled about it. Maybe I will get back into it again someday but I need something new to try. I am worried the same will happen with nursing and it will result in a lot of wasted time and money.

I don’t know how to get experience before I start nursing school though. I have been looking for psych internships and 99% want you to be full-time, unpaid, which first off is exploitive and just awful (you should at least make minimum wage!!) and more importantly I will not have time to do a full time internship and take all the prereq courses I need to take to get into the nursing program, it would be a disaster. The other 1% do offer pay but I still just will not have time and it is not mentally healthy for me to have a full time job as well as a full course load.

I’ve done everything else I can, I have done research on the job, I have talked to people I know who have the job, etc. but I really feel you don’t really KNOW until you do it yourself.

Meanwhile my parents are pressuring me to start making my own money and just want me to take a minimum wage part time job just to build up cash in the interim before I’d start nursing school. Which is the most realistic option for me but again I am very nervous I will end up not liking nursing. (Even though from my research it seems a really good fit for me skill wise and seems like I would like it, I am still nervous) I don’t know what to do with myself really. If this doesn’t pan out I’ll really have no idea what to do with myself.

1 Like