What's your expertise?

Ahh… now I remember that I studied computer. No wonder that I don’t understand psychology, neuroscience and other fields of expertise.

What’s your expertise? (Talent, skill, etc)

Lil bit of everything but not much of anything at all :smile:

Special education, specifically communication and behavioral disorders.

The Macgyver. 8-D

That emoticon looks like a ■■■■■ :laughing:

1 Like

It really is a special education. How would you apply the knowledge?

Oh, I didn’t notice that…

I would get my students to learn how to ask for things instead of beating the living ■■■■ out of their aides. It is a slow process that takes a great deal of patience and a high pain tolerance. I’ve had my shoulder dislocated, my finger broken, a chunk of ankle torn out, and received multiple bites and black eyes. I had to quit for good after a severe concussion, because my doctor won’t cleat me to work in that field again.

I can’t believe that the students learn proper communication and behavior by using the lecturer as experiments.

These are extremely severe cases of kids who can’t live at home because they’re a danger to themselves or others. The only way to teach them a better way is for someone to get in there with them and display extreme nonviolence and patience. Most of these kids were also severely mentally handicapped, and all of them were either nonverbal or only had echolalia (repeating things they have heard throughout the day) so trying to just reason with them wasn’t really an option.