What are your thoughts on cbd as a form of treatment?

During the past three, four years, I have been experimenting with cbd rich marijuana. My experience with it has been nothing short of a breakthrough: a reduction in symptoms (both + and -) and an ability to function at a higher level than when medicated on psychotropics.

What is the consensus around this in the schizophrenia community? Is the feeling that it is “still pot” and therefore not taken seriously or are people diagnosed discussing it as a potential treatment option?

I have been blogging my findings for the past eight months along with what I believe to be useful information for persons dz with schizophrenia: http://cbdpush.com

I would like to take what is written on this thread and discuss it in my blog. Thanks in advance for your reply.

-cbdpush

I pass on experimenting with smoking CBD filled strains of marijuana - I am waiting for FDA approved CBD based antipsychotics to come out - even if it takes years

CBD does have antipsychotic properties, and shows promise in treating both negative and positive symptoms in clinical trials.

However, it’s difficult to dose properly through the delivery of smoking marijuana. And it’s effects can be unpredictable.

I’m glad that it works for some people, but as both a patient and a nurse, I will prefer to wait until CBD has been developed into a consistent and predictable medication approved by the FDA and psychiatric community.

I admire your work though! It’s definitely interesting and possibly helpful for people who cannot tolerate approved antipsychotics.

Blessings,

Anthony

2 Likes