What am I doing wrong here

I need to know what I’m doing wrong so I can correct it. I don’t know if it’s my autism or a negative symptom. Here’s a convo I had with a girl on online dating. She stopped talking after last line. This conversation you see below has basically happened hundreds of times with different girls. I don’t understand, I need to understand to try to break thru my MI.

Have u heard about the fat penguins?

No I haven’t

Well I heard they’re great at breaking the ice

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

What’s one thing I should know about you that’s not on your profile?

I’m a business owner

What kind of business?

How long have you owned it for? Has business been good?

It’s been good.
For 5 years

Do you have a business partner or did you start it by yourself?

1 Like

Conversation. Listen and respond to what is being said. One liners and jokes aren’t that attractive for most. Few people make a living as a comedian.

Example. What do you call a man with his ding a ling stuck in a watermelon??

A. Christopher!

2 Likes

Wasn’t I responding to what was being said?

I don’t know… I would have responded after you asked. It’s not like you were just talking about yourself; you were interested in the other person. Having said that, it might not hurt to provide a little about yourself, too. It’s a two-way street. I’d be even more likely to share if a man told me about himself too (without dominating the conversation).

1 Like

Try general stuff first. Business probably isn’t a thing people want to be asked about.

Hi. I’m blank. How are you? Let them set the conversation. I’m tired from work. Oh ok yeah that happens …what do you do ? Etc. It’s just like having a regular conversation but your keeping in mind that the internet chatting can be a little different.

Be yourself. It’s all practice so keep on it!

2 Likes

Sould I have told her about myself before asking about her business?