Wanna become a career working with animals

Any suggestions??? Maybe a vet technician. Now I’m healthy I can do a lot more. I am high functioning when I’m sober. Maybe I’ll go to trade school.

8 Likes

The sky is the limit! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@cbbrown wassssup???

1 Like

Maybe you could volunteer at a shelter and see if that kind of work is for you.

3 Likes

I have two years experience working with animals. (As a volunteer). And that was when I was messed up and I loved it.

Here in California we have wildlife rescue centers. They take care of injured animals that people find in parks in the wild or their neighborhoods and help the animals until they are fit enough to to return to the wild. They take in baby animals who were abandoned by their mothers. I volunteered at one but I think there might be paid employees. Now the bad news, I worked there for about two months and hated it. If you’ve ever tried to hand
feed a 12" X 12" cage full of wild birds you will know why I hated it. The damn birds never stopped moving and they would either not let you feed them or they would steal food from each other. And that was my main job there.

Even harder is feeding tiny baby birds. For one thing, they are so delicate and fragile that they would get easily injured but I never injured one. But the babies were so young their eyes were barely open. But I learned a new word there: “crop”. The crop is in a baby birds necks, it’s a tiny hollow space down their throat, where we put food in their mouth with an eyedropper and the food goes in the crop and the birds swallow it. Theoretically it sounds easy or even fun but in practice it is neither of those. The tiny babies never stopped moving and did not want the eye dropper in their mouths, so we basically had to gently force feed them.