Schizophrenia.com

W2 or 1099?

Are you employed? Are you a wage/salary employee or a 1099 independent contractor?

• W2
  • Both
  • I don’t work

0 voters

What’s W2 and 1099? Never heard of those.

1 Like

I have a full time job I get a W2 for. You could say it’s hourly. I get an annual salary and only work 40 hours a week.

I also work part time as an aircraft mechanic and get a 1099 but I don’t do that very often at all anymore. I am never available when they call me usually so they pretty much quit calling.

I also get a 1099 for my military retired pay. They take out taxes though so I don’t have that headache every year.

1 Like

Tax forms in the US

1 Like

I can’t work. 15

W2 typically is for wage/ salary employees of a company. With 1099, one is technically not an employee even tho s/he may work for the company, termed independent contractor or self employed. An example of each would be working at mcDonalds (w2) and working as an Uber/ Lyft driver (1099). There are tax implications among both.

…and it’s okay that you can’t or don’t work, hopefully the poll will give some inspiration that it can be done.

1 Like

Did you have a late onset sz? I had thought about joining the military when I left college, but by then it was too late, the damage had been done so to speak. Instead i reregistered after a short absence and got my degree.

What do you do full time? I would love to work full time but I’d burn out within a few months. I currently am a part time wage employee and collect disability along with covid related unemployment insurance. All in all it totals an entry level full time wage.

Thanks for explaining, now its clear. I know here in Canada tax paper is called T4.

1 Like