Too long unemployed. Now unemployable

I work at home as an amateur composer. I also work as a volunteer with my church in our Legion of Mary group. This gives me the wide berth of flexibility that I need to cope with the extreme, and frequent migraine headaches that I get from 1 to 4 times a week, week upon week. They are pretty regular and constant. Even if I didn’t have a mental illness, I doubt very much that I could work with these headaches. I also have a bad case of degenerative arthritis that affects my whole body, but, especially my lower back. I could not do any kind of work that would involve bending over or lifting anything. Which would limit me greatly, as my educational training is in nursing. But mainly because of my psychiatric problems, I have not worked for the past 20 years. I have tried to apply for jobs occasionally, but, have always been turned down because, as they say, I have no recent work history.
My questions are:

• Do you guys feel you could work a paying job? If not, why not?
  • Do you volunteer? If not, why not?
  • Do you find that you have just been out of the paid work force too long? And how are you informed of this?

I was just curious about how many of you were working paid jobs versus volunteering versus working the full time job of keeping yourselves well. Just curious. Cheerio.

I have been at my janitor job for 5 years. It’s an easy job and pays relatively well.

2 Likes

My son was schizophrenic and he was a janitor too. He also said it was an easy job, and he said it was the perfect job for someone with his illness. He even said it was mentally relaxing.

[quote=“mylifeiswonderful68, post:3, topic:21166”]
He also said it was an easy job, and he said it was the perfect job for someone with his illness. He even said it was mentally relaxing.
[/quote]’
He was correct. Sorry about your loss.

1 Like

Thank you. 15 character.