Thinking about becoming an Actuary

I am thinking about moving to New York and becoming an Actuary. I have contacted someone in disability in New York and I am hoping she can get me an Actuarial job. Is this possible?

I passed two actuarial exams a long time ago.

Now I am feeling well and provided that the medications continue to provide me benefit, I can perhaps start working in a professional setting soon.

I am currently trading stocks with my own money, however, the results are not as positive as I would like.

6 Likes

Anyone applied to US gov jobs through a schedule A letter can guide me here? How does the process work?

Don’t you need a university degree? I had a friend who studied actuary in university.

1 Like

I read that stocks crashed recently, including crypto.

2 Likes

I have a bachelor’s degree in Actuarial Science. I have also done a year of Master’s in Statistics.

2 Likes

I don’t trade in the US. Here, the market doesn’t know how to go up and in the US it has forgotten how to go down.

2 Likes

I don’t know what an actuary is but I got a government job with a VA 10 point disability preference. It wasn’t easy to get. Lots of competition.

I started applying for government jobs in like 2011. Didn’t get one until 2019.

1 Like

Sounds like a high brow job. Would be cool if you could pull it off.

1 Like

I quit in like September or October. I kept getting bad reviews. I was a revenue officer with the IRS. Lots of paperwork.

1 Like

So, what was the process of getting the job? And, why did it take so long? Did you have the requisite qualifications? Did they interview you multiple times? Did you use the Schedule A letter?