The Desegregation Class of 1987

I skipped the 2 class reunions my high school had since I graduated high school in 1987. There were two reasons for that. I was too embarrassed by the fact I was still living with my Mother, flunked out of college, and was reluctant to discuss with others the topic of my mental illness. I also had painful memories as I graduated at the bottom of my class, skipped the prom due to my social anxiety disorder, spent most of my senior year hiding in my room from the World, and had practically no friends by the time it was over. It’s obvious to me now that i was in the prodomal phase of schizophrenia and that my meek college attempt was doomed. If they have a 30 year reunion I may bother to attend. It was a strange time in American history as we entered 1st grade when mandatory busing was enacted. When I was in Kindergarten the school I was at was almost all white and their were only 2 black students in my class. Neighborhood schools were the rule and neighborhoods were all white or all black. The neighborhood we were in was all white until a few blacks entered it. Then the whites ran. By the time I graduated the white flight had gone mainly to the county schools driven by fake doctor’s excuses to enable whites to go to the then predominately white schools. One county school was so overcrowded that gym and art classes were closed in order to take in the overflow. That school demanded room to build to take in their “new students” but since it was obviously resegregation the county school board bolted on the idea. My parents ran from the neighborhood eventually but my Mom and Dad divorced soon after that and my step father was to mildly put it a loser who either didn’t work or could only work for minimum wage. So although my next neighborhood was mainly white we still lived in the city school zone. So we remained in a school system where the white students were disappearing and a majority white system had become a majority black system. Ther