Technology, Coincidence and Subsequent Triggers

I have been doing relatively well mental heath-wise for the last two years or so. I started an online business which is doing well and I work from home. Because of the nature of my business (Digital Marketing), I am in a position where I have to be on my computer a lot, and online.

I am well aware of the fact that a lot of our data is collected online by these major companies for the sake of advertising. It is true that our web activities are sort of monitored in that regard. However, I have increasingly found myself experiencing a very peculiar phenomenon relating to these technologies. And it has become bothersome as of late. I’m not sure whether this is something that is treated with medication.

So what I have experienced is that, when I think about something, a peculiar, out of the ordinary thing, for whatever reason, I will receive an advertisement about that. Believe, I’ve engaged in very logical thought about how this happens. I have retraced my steps in many instances, and I’m certain I did not search that particular thing online, nor did I verbally speak about it or text someone about it.

So the question is, how do they just know? Or why do things coincide in such a way?

An example of this was some time ago when I blocked someone off Telegram. It was a potential love interest, but they had become flaky and inconsistent with communication. A few weeks after this, I was just randomly wondering whether that person had noticed that they had been blocked and whether they cared.

Not too long after, I received a very sketchy, low-budget ad on Instagram talking about “There’s no need to block your friends. How do you know they don’t care?” It was an ad for some tracking service that let’s you see you visited your Instagram account.