So what did you make when you had the art therapy?

Curious what you made in the hospital in art therapy? If you had it. I made a piggy bank, painted a jewelry box I keep my special things in now like my weeing ring my finger is too fat for now, my college ring, and I painted a piece of wood painted flowers on it. I’m no artist but It did force me to focus at the time. Was just in my study waiting for my friend to call we are having tea and saw the wood painting I’m glad that was in 2002 as well. Well, have a good night, now I"m watching the STeelers.

I painted some stuff: a birdhouse and a wooden cat. I also made a bead bracelet.

Cut pictures out of magazines on paste them on bristol board.

I got yelled at by the director for not following directions. Something about how I had to paste cutouts on provided paper instead of into my notebook. What a lamer. I walked out.

I don’t remember. I remember I don’t like forced art therapy though. I had art therapy in a day program. We got some plain white ivory soap and cut small pictures out of magazines and affixed them to the front and back of the soap so it was like fancy soap you buy at high end stores.

I drew a tree and a field of daisies. I also made a collage.

I had the same type of craft as you and BakedBeans when I was in the hospital for a visit years ago. We were provided old magazines to cut out pictures to paste onto another piece of paper; afterwards, we were asked to explain why we made those choices.

I remember that I had cut out a photo of a mountain, and pasted a picture of a man hiking to the top of it. When asked to explain why, I said that it was me making the climb and that one day when I reached the top of the mountain, I would look back and understand the journey.

3 Likes

I made boxes - painted or stained. I did the magazine collage. I found a wood block that someone else had carved + made a print from it.