Smoking and Giving up

I have been smoking since I was 11 years old. I am now 29 and this morning I was thinking about it - I have been smoking for 18 years. I think I am probably going to pay for that in some horrible way at some point soon, so not sure whether it’s worth giving up or not. I don’t always enjoy it, but I have smoked for so long now I am not sure I can give up at all. I like going and having a break from whatever I am doing, and it’s such a massive part of my routine.

I don’t know what to do. I really considered giving up this morning, but I caved in after about 30 mins which is pathetic. I am just not sure because I started so young if I have a tolerance to it or whether I have literally guaranteed a significantly early death because of it.

I find things really difficult at the moment, so not sure if I should maybe leave giving up for better times when I have less other things to cope with. I know it’s unhealthy but I am not sure if I can go without as small things at the moment are putting me in the red.

It’s hard when you have been doing something for the majority of your life.

I don’t know. I guess I need to just carry on and wait for a period of stability first :-/

3 Likes

the only I can do it,

and I’ve done it a lot, quit smoking

was with the gum, and working out to excess

@Joker

Don’t you think that going from smoking on a daily basis for 18 years to zero is a rush to failure? Why not set the goal to occasionally not smoke when you’re taking a break from whatever you’re doing?

I’ve smoked for 35 years, and I’ve tapered down, but I don’t want to quit.

I guess cutting down would be for the best. Giving up completely I don’t feel is an option.

A lot of people do that vaping now but I don’t really get it.

1 Like