Six Weeks Since ECT and Still Going Strong

Today is six weeks since my last ECT treatment for which I am scheduled to go back in two weeks, which will be eight weeks since having ECT. This is a big accomplishment for me as there was a time I couldn’t go one week without a treatment.

It has me thinking. I’ve been receiving treatments for three years and on psychotropic drugs for 18 years. It has been proven that antipsychotics change the brain’s structure and chemistry. Treatment Advocacy Center provides some great info on what the research has found ( http://www.treatmentadvocacycenter.org/resources/about-mental-illnesses/schizophrenia/1378).

When my psychiatrist recommended ECT he said they thought it awakened dead neurons. So have my years of meds and treatments altered my brain to make me a little more sane? Stress still brings out my psychosis, but I don’t stay there. When I developed sz five years ago it was bad, and no med touched it. Now I still have the lack of motivation and cognitive problems. I still don’t function anywhere near to before my sz diagnosis, but since being diagnosed this is the best I’ve been. I’m able to do school, online, full time with a 3.97 GPA, I have a wonderful boyfriend, who gave me a promise ring, my relationship with my mom is the best it has ever been, and I have real friends for once, not many but I would take quality over quantity anytime. Things are good.

It is hard to be hopeful because it was only last August that I was in the hospital and so psychotic and out of my head that I couldn’t take care of myself. I know I have the potential to have a break at anytime, but I’m determined to remain vigilant. I’ve learned that anxiety is a precursor to my psychosis so I am determined to keep that in check.

Just wanted to share some of my thoughts. :sun_with_face:

4 Likes

Hell yeah sun girl that’s excellent news.

1 Like

Thanks @BryanAshley !! :sun_with_face:

I’m very happy for you… @SunGirl